The Son by Jo Nesbo

#THE SON by #JoNesbo is a #crime / #thriller novel which is 478 pages long.


At the start of Part 2 of 5, which is at the start of chapter 12, on page 92, I found this book very interesting because the concept was new to me, about a prison inmate on drugs who heals the other inmates and forgives them for their sins.

At that point in the book, I found it a little bit difficult to follow because each chapter was told from a different character’s perspective. Although they were the same few alternating characters (at that point), it was difficult to recall what happened the last time a chapter was told from their perspective, as the story felt a little bit stilted at first due to all the different threads from the different characters. However, it began to get easier to recognise each character and their story because the story was coming together and feeling more connected and smooth as I continued reading.

I have never read a book of this genre before (crime/ #mystery) and so I was really enjoying discovering a whole new style of storytelling and a new experience of trying to find out how all the characters’ stories link together to make the whole book!


At the start of Part 4 of 5, the start of chapter 33, on page 351 (out of 478 total pages, 73% of the way through the book!) I was really enjoying this book because, due to the different perspectives of the book, the reader can follow the murderer, along with the detective solving all the murder cases. Despite following the murderer’s story, the reader is still in the dark about his motives, and so it is intriguing to solve the case while reading about the policemen characters in the story doing the same thing.


Having finished the entire book (in 4 weeks and 4 days) although I thought that overall the story was very intriguing and I really enjoyed reading it, I felt that the ending of the book was slightly unclear. Approaching the end of the novel, I could tell that there was something I didn’t understand, because some characters were in disguise as others. I felt that the way the author tried to indirectly tell the reader what was truly happening didn’t help me comprehend the story.

“The Mole” (a character in the police force who is helping the black market) is revealed in the final chapter of the book, and although the reader could guess all through the novel, it is a surprise to finally know the character behind the nickname.

I thought that the second half of the last chapter was particularly unclear because it kept jumping from one characters perspective to another’s, and it felt quite rushed, as if the author was trying to tie up all the loose ends too quickly, which confused me. For example, in the last sentence, Martha is about to start driving, but earlier in that section she was on a boat. Considering that this story is so long, I felt that the author should have taken a bit more time to complete the story and end on a high.

Overall, I would give this book 9 out of 10 stars because I loved the story right up until the very last chapter, which although I knew what had happened, I didn’t understand why. The author was very clever about never directly telling you where/who the murderer is, the clever description of subtle details that only the reader would notice was a clever way to keep the reader on their toes.


I think that this book’s maturity level is perfect for the teenage age group because it touches upon mature subjects, but is quite careful when mentioning them, so that younger readers can enjoy the story without being upset by the content.

Blurb on the book’s back cover:

son-jo-nesboSONNY’S ON THE RUN

Sonny is a model prisoner. He listens to the confessions

of other inmates, and absolves them of their sins.

HE’S BEEN LIED TO HIS WHOLE LIFE

But then one prisoner’s confession changes everything.

He knows something about Sonny’s disgraced father.

SONNY WANTS REVENGE

He needs to break out of prison and make those responsible

pay for their  crimes.

WHATEVER THE COST

A book I would like to read next is “The couple next door”. This was recommended to me by my English teacher, as it is also a mystery novel. Having read and enjoyed “The Son” I think it would be a good next step into reading this genre more often.

Check out the “Currently reading tag” (link on home page) to see what I’m reading now!

-ReadWriteDayNight

Leave a Reply

